Our Leadership
Understanding Baptist Governance

As a Baptist church, we practice a form of self-governance called congregationalism. This means that our covenanted members—people who have professed their faith through believers baptism, and who have committed themselves to our church community—are expected to participate fully in the life and leadership of the church. This can be done by serving in church ministries, by attending annual business meetings, and, most importantly, by listening to God’s Spirit together to discern His will for our church.

Our membership nominates a leadership board (what we call our “Board of Deacons”) who manage the church and make day-to-day decisions on the membership’s behalf. Our membership also calls pastoral staff into ministry to oversee the church and “equip the saints for works of service, so the body of Christ may be built up.” (Ephesians 4:12)

Meet Our Deacons

Freely 56581
Angela Shimizu
  • Board Chair
Freely 27537
Stephanie Climie
  • Deacon
Tracy Upham
  • Deacon
Freely 56581
Vicki MacGregor
  • Board Secretary